Skip to content

My first game launch, as it were

November 2, 2012

I got off extremely lucky compared to many other North-easterners regarding Hurricane Sandy.  In my area there were power outages and the occasional tree falling on some poor sod’s car, but no floodings or fires or what have you.  I wasn’t even one of the people who lost power, I just lost internet for several days, and I’m pretty grateful of that.

And not long after my internet returned, my first game is now online!

YOU CAN PLAY IT HERE

As my first game’s launch, this is kinda how I feel right now:

yeah

The image is taken from this article written by Derek Yu, which mirrors my thoughts and feelings on finishing a game in a myriad of ways.  I mean, I had kinda already finished Why Am I Dead a long long time ago, but only sort of finished it.  This time, I finished finished it.  And it feels good.  Oh, here’s another image from the same article that seems appropriate:

feels good man

Anyway.  With all this excitement, it’s pretty much impossible for my standards of success not to be met.

“This game is too short!”  == My game left people wanting more.  Success!

“This game confused me.”  == My game got people thinking.  Success!

“This game was impossible to beat.”  == My game was ambitious.  Success!

“I absolutely hate this game and I want to injure you.”  ==  My game, uh…created an emotional response.  SUCCESS!

…On a more serious note, I’m looking forward to getting feedback and growing as a developer/designer from the responses I get.  And of course, other projects are in the works, one of which I’m very overdue on talking about!

From → Why Am I Dead

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

